Monkey Species Index

Types of Monkeys (Overview)

This article does not cover all species of monkeys, but rather shows the overall groups, subfamilies, and focuses on the more well known monkeys as well as those with unique characteristics.


Most baboons love savannah type areas; though on occasion, some baboons can do live in some tropical forests and areas.

Blue Monkey

The Blue Monkey is also known as the diademed monkey.  This is considered to be an Old World monkey.

Capuchin Monkey

The Capuchin monkey is considered to be a New World monkey. Capuchin monkeys can live across central and south America.


Gibbons are large apes of the Hylobatidae family. These amazing gibbons are mostly found in south Asia such as Indonesia, Borneo, Java, China and India.

Golden Lion Tamarin

The Golden Lion Tamarin can usually be found closer to coastal forests on the Atlantic Ocean. The Golden Lion Tamarin monkeys are very beautiful.

Howler Monkey

The Howler Monkey is some of the biggest New World monkeys. They are some of the cutest monkeys the world has and they are distinctive.

Japanese Macaque

The Japanese Macaque is known as an Old World monkey which is native to Japan. These monkeys are very much like a human.


The Mandrill is an Old World monkey and it is considered to be one of the biggest, in fact, the biggest of all monkeys in the world today.


Most marmoset monkeys are considered to be new world monkeys. There are twenty two different types of New World monkey species including the marmoset.

Proboscis Monkey

This animal is primarily found in South East Asia, in Borneo. This is a beautiful Old World monkey is a very unique animal.

Pygmy Marmoset

The Pygmy Marmoset can also be known as the dwarf monkey.  This is a new world monkey and they are a very small animal.

Rhesus Macaque

The Rhesus Macaque is an Old World monkey.  This species is a very popular one found and it’s also known as the Rhesus monkey.

Spider Monkey

The spider monkey’s hair is going to be very coarse and their hair can vary in colour. It can change from brown, black to gold; but their feet will be black.

Squirrel Monkey

The Squirrel monkeys are considered to be new world monkeys; and they have short fur all around them.

Vervet Monkey

The Vervet Monkey is a species that has been around for many years. It is considered to be an Old World monkey and is a member of the Cercopithecidae family.

(Visited 4,739 times, 1 visits today)