Search Results for: monkey

Types of Monkeys

Monkey Species Index – Types of Monkeys (Overview) This article does not cover all species of monkeys, but rather shows the overall groups, subfamilies, and focuses on the more well known monkeys as well as those with unique characteristics. – Baboon Most baboons love savannah type areas; though on occasion, some baboons can do live in some tropical forests and areas. – Blue Monkey The Blue Monkey is also known as the diademed monkey.  This is considered to be an Old World monkey. – Capuchin Monkey The Capuchin monkey is considered to be a New World monkey. Capuchin monkeys can live across central and south America. – Gibbon Gibbons are large apes of the Hylobatidae family. These amazing gibbons are mostly found in south Asia such as Indonesia, Borneo, Java, China and India. – Golden Lion Tamarin The Golden Lion Tamarin can usually be found closer to coastal forests on the Atlantic Ocean. The Golden Lion Tamarin monkeys are very beautiful. – Howler Monkey The Howler Monkey is some of the biggest New World monkeys. They are some of the cutest monkeys the world has and they are distinctive. – Japanese Macaque The Japanese Macaque is known as an Old World monkey which is native to Japan. These monkeys are very much like a human. – Mandrill The Mandrill is an Old World monkey and it is considered to be one of the...

Read More

Old World Monkeys

Old World Monkeys   Old World Monkeys are the group that is found in Asia and Africa. Fossils have been found in Europe, and there are still free roaming monkeys in Gibraltar, though they may have been introduced to the wild there. Most of the common, well known monkeys are in the Old World Monkey group, such as baboons, langur, and macaques. Currently at least 78 species can be found in this group, which is divided into two subfamilies. The largest being the male mandrill—females are a lot smaller—which can weigh up to 110lb and grow to be about 2.3ft in length. The smallest species in the group is the talapoin, which only weighs 1.5-2.8 lb and is 1.1-1.2 ft long. This is still considerably larger than the pygmy marmoset in South America. Physical differences are also recognizable. Most notably, their tails are completely non-prehensile and in some species very small. Their noses are also narrow with nostrils that face sideways compared to the New World Monkeys with their flat noses. All Old World Monkeys have opposable thumbs, except the colubus monkey, which only has small stumps, which aid in tree travel. All have eight premolars and most eat both carnivorous and herbivorous diets. Most monkeys in this group are not picky about food, and will eat a variety of plants, roots, seeds, nuts, insects, eggs, and other small...

Read More

New World Monkeys

New World Monkeys Monkeys are divided into two general categories: Old World Monkeys and New World Monkeys. New World Monkeys are found in Central and South America. There are several characteristics that make New World Monkeys different from Old World Monkeys, and several that are the same. They still fall under the species of monkey: a primate that is neither human or ape. The roughly 53 species of New World Monkeys living in the tropical forests of Southern Mexico, Central, and South America. Most of these monkeys are arboreal, meaning they live and travel in the trees rather than on the ground. Because of this, less is known about these monkeys as they are harder to study. New species are also being discovered, so new factors come into play often. They are most clearly defined by their flatter noses, with nostrils on the side, while Old World Monkeys have more narrow noses. Another difference is that New World Monkeys have twelve premolars, while Old World Monkeys have eight. The males and many of the females are color blind. These monkeys are also the only ones in the world that have prehensile tails, meaning they can use their tails to hold on to branches for balance and swinging. Other monkeys do not have the use of this “third hand” as their tails are either short or non-prehensile. New World Monkeys...

Read More


Monkeys Haplorrhini suborder Monkeys Facts and Information. Feeding, habitat, distribution, reproduction, anatomy and more. Facts about Capuchin Monkeys, Mandrills, Baboons, Spider Monkeys and others. Introduction To Monkeys The definition of monkeys is any primate that is not human or ape. Monkeys are divided into two subspecies: Old World Monkeys and New World Monkeys. Old World monkeys are found in Africa and Asia, while New World monkeys live in Central and South America. In general, monkeys can be recognized because they have tails, while apes do not. However, this isn’t always the case and some monkeys have been incorrectly labeled as apes. Class...

Read More

Pin It on Pinterest